Frequently Asked Questions for ARES 
ARES Application Process

1) What is the mailing address to submit my completed ARES certificate application?

Elizabeth A. Rolando

Chief Clerk

Illinois Commerce Commission 

527 E. Capital Ave.

Springfield, IL 62701

2) Are there any prerequisites to filing for an ARES license?

Yes, the applicant must have already obtained a license to do business in the State of Illinois from the Illinois Secretary of State prior to applying with the Illinois Commerce Commission for an ARES certificate.  It does not make a difference if the license from the Illinois Secretary of State is a “foreign” or “domestic” license.
3) 
Required number of copies to submit?

The original application and four copies are required.  To assist Staff in its review of any application, applicants are asked to provide the Chief Clerk’s Office with four additional copies of the Application and all attachments, along with the original.  The four additional copies should be labeled as follows to be forwarded to the appropriate Staff:
· Office of Retail Market Development

· Manager of Finance Department, Financial Analysis Division

· Consumer Services Division

· Deputy General Counsel, Energy

(A handwritten annotation in the upper right-hand corner of the first page will be sufficient to direct the additional copies to the appropriate Staff.)

You can file the application electronically through the ICC e-docket system, the web site is http://www.icc.illinois.gov/e-docket/.  If you are interested in filing electronically and need assistance, please call 217 557-4224.

  

4) Is there an application fee?

There is no application fee.
5) What is the law and what are the Commission’s rules?
Section 16-115 can be found here and Code Part 451 can be found here.
6) How do I file the license or permit bond? 
The original license or permit bond is filed with the application.  

7) 
What is the process for requesting confidential treatment of information in the application or 
attachments to the application?

To file confidential documents, please refer to Part 451.60.
8)
How long does the license application process take?

 A Docket Number will be assigned after the applicant has made its filing with the Commission.  The Commission has 45 days after the date on which a complete application has been filed with the Commission and notice of the applicant’s filing published in the Official State Newspaper to issue an order granting or denying an application to an ARES filing under Subpart B, C and E.  However, the Commission can extend the time for considering an application filed under Subpart D up to 90 days.  
9)
Can an applicant check the status of their case?
Yes, applicants can check the status of their case by entering their docket number in the Commission’s e-Docket system.
10)
Can the ARES certificate process be expedited?

No.  However, we encourage applicants to send a draft of their application for review so that any issues with the draft application can be resolved prior to filing the application with the Commission.  Staff generally provides comments on draft applications within ten business days.  Draft applications can be sent to Torsten Clausen at Tclausen@icc.illinois.gov.  Please be advised that a review of your draft application is only a courtesy and not a necessary filing requirement and, as such, does not prejudge the approval or denial of your application.  
11)
What is the requirement to publish notice of applicant’s filing in the Official State Newspaper?

 In addition, Section 16-115(b) of the Act [220 ILCS 5/16-115(b)] and Part 451.30(a) require the applicant to publish notice of its application in the Official State Newspaper within 10 days following the filing of the application. The Official State Newspaper through September 14, 2017 is the Breeze Courier; its legal notices department may be reached at (217) 824-2233 (ask for legal notice department). The telefax number for the legal notices department is (217) 824-2026 and email is breezeclassifieds@breezecourier.com.  

The applicant shall send the original and two copies of the proof of publication to the Chief Clerk at the same address set forth above. The filing of the proof of publications should be made as soon as possible after publication.

12)
If the applicant does not have a Federal Employee Identification Number (FEIN) per Section 451.20 (c) (2), should the applicant provide their Social Security Number on the application?
No, please DO NOT provide a Social Security Number in place of a FEIN.
13)
Does the applicant need to identify the type of customers it intends to serve?


Yes.  An ARES applicant can apply for certification under any one of four Subparts:

· Subpart B to serve only nonresidential retail customers with maximum electrical demands of one megawatt or more,

· Subpart C to serve nonresidential retail customers with annual electric consumption greater than 15,000 kWh,

· Subpart D to serve all retail customers, or
· Subpart E to serve only the applicant itself and retail customers, at separate locations, if the customers are both owned by, or are subsidiaries or other corporate affiliate of, the applicant and are eligible for delivery services.

Applicants should identify in the first paragraph of the Application under which Subpart the 
applicant is filing.
14)
Can an ARES apply for additional certifications other than the utility service territory and 
customer classifications it wishes to serve in the ARES Certification Application?


Yes.  In addition to the certification under the subparts B through E, an ARES applicant can 
also apply for authorization to provide single-billing service under Subpart F.

15)
If an ARES only holds a certificate from the ICC for a certain utility service territory or customer 
class and wishes to expand to a different utility service territory or additional customer class(s) 
must the ARES submit a new ARES certification application to the ICC obtain a certificate for 
the new area or customer class it seeks certification to serve?


Yes

16)
Can an ARES choose to relinquish its ARES certificate?  


Yes, An ARES can choose to relinquish its ARES certificate by submitting a petition to 
surrender its Certificate of Service Authority as an ARES.  
17)
Whom should applicants contact with additional questions regarding the ARES certification 
process?
· General Questions - Torsten Clausen, Office of Retail Market Development , at  tclausen@icc.illinois.gov, or

· Questions regarding Financial Qualifications - Phil Hardas, Finance Department, Financial Analysis Division, at (217) 557-5213 or phardas@icc.illinois.gov
18)
Are there other applicable Administrative Rules that should be reviewed by an applicant prior 
to submission of an ARES certificate application?


83 Ill. Adm. Code 200 (“Part 200”), Rules of Practice, provides the Commission requirements 
for filings. Contents of all documents must be consistent with the Commission’s Rules of 
Practice.
   

ARES Recertification Process
19)
Is each certified ARES required to file a recertification report with the ICC each year?


Yes.
20)
When is the ARES Recertification Report due?

April 30th of each year.

21)
What time frame should be covered in the ARES Recertification Report?


The previous calendar year.  For example, the report due March 31, 2014 should cover the 
time period of January 1, 2013 – December 31, 2013.
22)
Are ARESs that are certified near the end of the reporting period such as November or 
December still required to file the ABC Recertification Report?


Yes.
23)
Is there a report format that should be followed?


Yes, there is an ARES Annual Report Form posted at 
http://www.icc.illinois.gov/electricity/ares.aspx. 
24) 
Are there filing fees for Recertification Reports?


No.

25)
Will this annual report recertify my ARES license for the next year?


Yes, so long as the report is complete.

26)
What are the consequences of failing to file the ABC Recertification Report?


The Commission may initiate a citation proceeding for failure to file the annual report.
27)
Should the Annual Kilowatt-Hour Report be included with the ARES Annual Recertification 
Report?


No, the Annual Kilowatt-Hour Report required per Part 451.770 is due by March 1 of each 
year.  

28)
Is there a form for the Annual Kilowatt-Hour Report?

No.  ARES should simply file a report stating the total annual kilowatt-hours delivered and sold 
to retail customers within each utility service territory and the total annual kWh delivered and 
sold to retail customers in all utility service territories in the preceding calendar year.  The 
report must be verified, which means signed and notarized.
29)
Can an ARES check to see if the Annual Recertification Report or Annual kWh Report were 
received?

Yes.  Type in the ARES name on the ICC’s website under Utilities and Providers.  Click on the name of the ARES and then click the “Compliance Filings” tab.
Other ARES Matters
30)
How does an ARES update official corporate officer and / or corporate contact information located on 
the ICC’s website under Utilities and Providers?

Written notification should be emailed to the Chief Clerk’s Office at chiefclerks@icc.illinois.gov.

31)
How does an ARES get added to the PluginIllinois.org List of Certified and Registered Suppliers?


Email Christy Pound with the information as you want it presented at cpound@icc.illinois.gov.

32)
How does an ARES post an offer(s) on PluginIllinois.org?


The ARES must submit a completed External User Account Request form which can be found under 
Electricity Forms.

33)
How does an ARES update Municipal Aggregation information found on PluginIllinois.org?


Email updated / corrected information to Christy Pound at cpound@icc.illinois.gov.

� Part 200:  http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/083/08300200sections.html
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